general news

Sample processing has become somewhat routine as I embark upon finishing the last 5 sets of stations from the cruise. Seems as though I should had these finished by now, but I guess that is part of the whole scientific process. I’m much more patient with the process than I used to be – as well as with myself. It takes time to learn something and master it well enough such that you feel completely comfortable. For instance, operating a piece of equipment.

The next phase of my summer project should be working with isolates to regenerate them and hopefully bring them into laboratory culture. These will no doubt have viral contamination, but I’m interested to see if I can apply the HTC method. While I wind down with flow cytometer sampling, the isolates would give me a good opportunity to work with my data in anticipation of my biostats ccourse this fall. Good tiiming all the way around.

I was starting to think that I didn’t have enough credits to finish the MS requirement, but that is quite wrong, by at least 6 more. I’m not worried about that. I’m not sure how many extra courses this might mean for the first year of a doctoral program.

In personal news, I’ve made a commitment to biking in from further and further away each day. The ultimate goal would be to split my car ride substantially. I’m not sure if I can do it in half, there are some bad road choices, but I’m starting out with more mileage to get used to it. I’m making a big effort to cut back on driving this summer because I’m piling up the miles back and forth to Portland, and I generally dislike driving. The ocean breezes feel great and so does the satisfaction of having made the trek into school for the day.

Tags: , , , ,

About hawright

marine ecologist

Leave a Reply

