carboy data

I’m in the next and final phase of my data analysis.  This is to quantify the shifts in population abundance during a CO2 carboy incubation experiment that was conducted during the COPAS08 cruise.  I have samples  from 2 of the 4 experiments – I wish I had samples from all 4 but at this point, that is what I’ve got.  The analysis is sequential, which is similar to all my other analysis. Here’s an idea of how many steps I have to go through to get a plot on paper to analyze.

– collect water sample – subsample 1 ml aliquot that is then frozen in liquid nitrogen from a 250ml-1L volume

– thaw sample at 34°C briefly vortex and aliquot 400µl for fcm analysis

– run sample for 10-20min on flow cytometer to detect populations

– open raw fcm file in CYTOWIN analysis software to quantify populations

– open stat output file in excel and take relevant population counts from the fcm analysis

– prepare a spreadsheet file for the data so that the raw counts from the flow cytometer can be transformed into cells/ml or abundance data.

– plot the counts (cells/ml)

– interpret the plots to determine how these populations are changing at specific ppm CO2 over a time series T0, T24, T72 hr timepoints.

Ok, so I’m completing the last portion of that long winded explanation above and seeing some striking similarities and differences between the two experiments as well as within the two replicate carboys. This is the exciting stuff folks~! The results I’m listing will be translated into a written results chapter for the carboy experiments soon to be part of my thesis.

Tags: , , , ,

About hawright

marine ecologist

Leave a Reply

